Reading Body Language 101

Reading Body Language 101

It’s not easy to read someone’s body language especially if you’re unsure or not expressive. Experts agree that communication is 80% of our body language, and not what we say. Body language is a way in which we can get an understanding of how someone truly feels. So, how can you read someone’s body language more efficiently? Well, we’ll explore that.

Have you ever wondered what else your body language reveals about you? Here is a video all about it: https://youtu.be/nLGn1cveqIc

Writer: Michal Mitchell
Script Manager: Kelly Soong
Voice Over: Amanda Silvera (www.youtube.com/amandasilvera)
Animator: SunBiscuit
YouTube Manager: Cindy Cheong

References:
Naumann, L. P., Vazire, S., Rentfrow, P. J., & Gosling, S. D. (2009). Personality Judgments Based on Physical Appearance. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 35(12), 1661–1671. doi.org/10.1177/0146167209346309
Paler, J. (2020, September 22). 17 psychological tricks that can you help you read people like an open-book. Hack Spirit. hackspirit.com/how-to-read-people/.
Orloff, J. (2014, February 26). Three Techniques to Read People. Psychology Today. www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/emotional-freedom/201402/three-techniques-read-people.
Whitbourne, S. K. (2018, April 14). 3 Types of Smiles and What They Say About You. Psychology Today. www.psychologytoday.com/intl/blog/fulfillment-any-age/201804/3-types-smiles-and-what-they-say-about-you.
Stanborough, R. J. (2019, June 29). What Is a Duchenne Smile and How Can It Influence Other People? Healthline. www.healthline.com/health/duchenne-smile.
Barker, E. (2017, May 4). How to Read People: Five Secrets Backed by Research. Observer. observer.com/2016/07/how-to-read-people-5-secrets-backed-by-research/.
Bariso, J. (2015, November 24). An FBI Agent Shares 9 Secrets to Reading People. Inc.com. www.inc.com/justin-bariso/an-fbi-agents-9-ways-to-read-people.html.
Cherry, K. (n.d.). How to Read Body Language and Facial Expressions. Verywell Mind. www.verywellmind.com/understand-body-language-and-facial-expressions-4147228.
Raypole, C., & Legg, T. J. (2020, January). A Beginner’s Guide to Reading Body Language. Healthline. www.healthline.com/health/body-language